The 2012 jury

Pride Photo Award is proud to present the members of the 2012 jury. The photos were taken by Janus van den Eijnden at the Lloyd Hotel in Amsterdam on Tuesday the 18th of July 2012 when the jury was in session to select the winning photos.


Christian Caujolle – Copyright Janus van den Eijnden

Jury chairman Christian Caujolle (France), started his career as a journalist and chief photo editor for the French newspaper Libération. In 1986 he founded photo press agency Agence Vu, followed by the Galerie Vu in 1998. He was artistic director of both until 2006 and is currently working as a freelance curator and lecturer. He has curated many photo exhibitions, most notably as artistic director for the photo festival of Arles in 1997, PhotoEspaña in 2000 and Isabel Muñoz in 2009. For Arles he organized ‘Richard Avedon en couleurs’ in 2008 and ‘Traverses, la collection photographique de Marin Karmitz’ in 2010. He founded Photo Phnom Penh in Cambodia in 2008 and is still its artistic director.


Paul Mpagi Sepuya © Janus van den Eijnden

Paul Mpagi Sepuya (USA) is a visual artist who lives and works in Brooklyn, New York, known for his photography, portrait, and book-based projects that often explore the interwoven social and sexual relationships at the site of artistic production within a gay community. Awards include the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council’s Workspace Residency (2009-2010) and Artist-in-Residence at the Center for Photography at Woodstock (2010), and Artist-in-Residence at the Studio Museum in Harlem (2010-2011).


Pawel Leszkowicz © Janus van den Eijnden

Pawel Leszkowicz (Poland), is an activist, curator and academic specializing in contemporary queer art/visual culture and LGBTQ studies. He curated ‘Ars Homo Erotica’ at Warsaw’s National Museum in 2010. The curatorial concept was based on queering the entire collection of the National Museum in dialogue with the contemporary LGBTQ art in Central/Eastern Europe. He curated a number of contemporary queer art exhibitions focused on video art and photography: Love and Democracy (2006), Vogue (2009), Love is Love. Art as LGBTQ Activism from Britain to Belarus (2011).


Renata Ferri © Janus van den Eijnden

Renata Ferri (Italy) is a journalist in charge of the photo department of Io Donna, the weekly magazine of the leading Italian newspaper Corriere della Sera. She is also an independent curator of photographic projects such as exhibits, books and multimedia. She was part of the 2011 jury for Pride Photo Award.


Patricia Levasseur de la Motte © Janus van den Eijnden

Patricia Levasseur de la Motte (France) is a former assistant curator for photography and new media at the Singapore Art Museum (SAM). She curated and co-curated several exhibitions including TRANSPORTASIAN: Visions of Contemporary Photography from Southeast Asia, SAM (2009); Rainbow Asia, Seoul Arts Center (2010); and Video, an Art, a History 1965–2010: a Selection from the Centre Pompidou and Singapore Art Museum Collections, SAM (2011). She is presently an independent curator, working on The Philanthropic Museum, an on-line museum project dedicated to photography and video arts in Southeast Asia.


Pride Photo Award is an annual international contest for photos about sexual and gender diversity.


  • English
  • Nederlands