List of all winners of 2011

The winners of the 2011 edition were announced on the 13th of July 2011. The international jury selected 18 winners including the winner of the Pride Photo Award 2011: the photo ‘Leon’ by Trea van Drunen which is featured on our home page.


A Special mention was given to the series Underage by photographer Ohm Phanpiroj.


The jury awarded a first, second and third prize in six categories:


Straight Back At You (the 2011 thematic category):

First prize: A Series of Questions; L Weingarten, USA

Second prize: Same Time Same Place; Martijn Gijsbertsen, The Netherlands

Third Prize: Pride Parade in Belgrade, Serbia, 2010; Jovana Cetkovic, Serbia


Current Topics:

First prize: Iraq’s Gay Refugees; Bradley Secker, UK

Second prize: Transmen of the world; Manuel R. Garcia, Germany

Third prize: Italian First Rainbow Families; Gughi Fassino, Italy



First prize: Persecution of Homosexuality in Uganda; Benedicte Desrus / SIPA Press, France

Second prize: Untitled Series One; Michal Lelenthal Brzezinski, UK

Third prize: LadyBoys, Born to be a Woman; Jean-Michel Clajot, Belgium



First prize: Leon; Trea van Drunen, The Netherlands – WINNER OF THE  PRIDE PHOTO AWARD 2011

Second prize:  LGBT Mexicans of the XXIst Century; Rogelio Pereda, Mexico

Third prize: Queer Kids; Michael Sharkey, USA



First prize: A True Story; Hinda Schuman, USA

Second prize: Good Old Gays; Paul Koeleman, The Netherlands

Third prize: I ♥ Brooklyn Girls; Erica Beckman, USA



First prize: Camilla and The Devils Horsemen; Anastasia Taylor Lind, UK

Second prize:   Inside2Outside; Raoul Vernède, The Netherlands

Third prize: Lowlanders; Willem Poelstra, The Netherlands

Pride Photo Award is an annual international contest for photos about sexual and gender diversity.


  • English
  • Nederlands